Completed meetings and events 2018-2019

Mon 22nd April 2019 No Meeting

Easter Monday

Mon 15th April 2019 Speaker Meeting

Jim McArthur will present his Personal Profile.

Mon 8th April 2019 David Startup’s Picture Quiz

A repeat of the provocative and often hilarious quiz with a difference.

Mon 1st April 2019 Speaker Meeting

Derek Gulland will enlighten us regarding the Standing Stones of Callanais.

Mon 25th March 2019 Business Meeting

To discuss the business and activities of the Club

Mon 18th March 2019 Speaker Meeting

Dennis Ashton will amuse us with a talk entitled “Humour Me”

Mon 11th March 2019 Speaker Meeting

The Imortal Life of Henrietta Lacks by Andy Wilson.

Mon 4th March 2019 Speaker Meeting

Our Speaker is Frank Evers, Chairman of the Leeds Branch of the British Polio Fellowship – supporting ongoing polio sufferers in the UK later in life.

Mon 25th February 2019 Club Meeting - Outside Visit

We will visit a neighbouring Rotary Club

Mon 18th February 2019 Business Meeting

To discuss the business and activities of the Club.

Tue 12th February 2019 Technology Tournament

Once more we are to adjudicate at this popular schoolks event

Mon 11th February 2019 Speaker Meeting

A presentation by Wetherby Explorer Scouts on their participation in the Scout World Jamboree in the USA in 2019.

Thu 7th February 2019 Film Night

The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society (2018 film) showing at The Wetherby Golf Club

Mon 4th February 2019 Speaker Meeting

Charlene Holdsworth of Sue Ryder Care will talk to us about their work at Wheatfields Hospice in Headingley.

Mon 28th January 2019 Business Meeting

To discuss the business and activities of the Club

Mon 21st January 2019 Club Meeting

Details to be advised

Mon 14th January 2019 Speaker Meeting

Arek Hersh, who will talk of his Auschwitz experiences. He will also have copies of his book ‘A Detail of History’ with him for sale (£5 each).

Fri 11th January 2019 York Pantomime Visit

Our annual dose of traditional culture at York Theatre Royal (oh yes it is!)

Mon 7th January 2019 No Meeting

New Year Break

Mon 17th December 2018 Christmas Party

Seasonal fun at Wetherby Golf Club

Mon 10th December 2018 Special General Meeting

To discuss the business of the Club

Mon 26th November 2018 Speaker Meeting

Our speaker is Robert Morphet, who will tell us about a Yorkshire project to raise money for a D-class lifeboat for RNLI and for us to discuss how we can play a part in that project.

Fri 2nd November 2018 Sheep Stakes

Our annual fundraiser at Boston Spa Village Hall

Mon 22nd October 2018 Club Meeting

District Conference feedback and a presentation by Uell Kennedy on recruitment to Rotary.

Sat 13th October 2018 Welcome to Wetherby

Attendance at the exhibition to promote the activities in our town. We will be telling visitors about the good things that Rotary does near and far. An opportunity for those with such interest to learn more about us.

Fri 12th October 2018 - Sun 14th October 2018 District Conference - Scarborough

Our weekend away with the Rotary Family.

Mon 8th October 2018 Club Meeting with the District Governor

Visit by District Governor Nigel Arthurs. To be held jointly with Roundhay Rotary Club

Sat 29th September 2018 A Trip to Masham Sheep Fair

A social outing in appreciation of Wensleydale sheep.

Mon 24th September 2018 Speaker Meeting

Victor Hawkins will talk to us about "The Local Villages"

Mon 10th September 2018 Speaker Meeting

Our candidate, Josh Craggs Hill, will tell us of his experiences at the Rotary Youth Leadership Award camp in July

Mon 10th September 2018 Speaker Meeting

Our candidate, Josh Craggs Hill, will tell us of his experiences at the Rotary Youth Leadership Award camp in July

Mon 13th August 2018 Business Meeting

To discuss the business and activities of the Club

Sun 5th August 2018 Tockwith & District Show

Fund raising and promotional activity

Mon 23rd July 2018 Speaker Meeting

Lucy Lowthian will tell us about the charity “Keeping Children Safe”.

Wed 11th July 2018 Bramham School Garden Opening Day

We have contributed to this scheme and have been invited to attend the opening.

Mon 9th July 2018 Speaker Meeting

Sat 7th July 2018 Stroke Awareness

Blood pressure testing in Wetherby in support of the Stroke Association

Mon 2nd July 2018 Handover Dinner

We say thanks to our outgoing President and welcome the new President and the new team.
future calendar district events