Completed meetings and events 2017-2018

Tue 26th June 2018 Presidential Handover

President Pat hands over to incoming president - Colin

Tue 19th June 2018 Nigel Humphries - A Life of Crime - Diary of a Criminal Solicitor

Nigel tells us of his career as a criminal solicitor

Wed 13th June 2018 Kids Out Day at Colchester Zoo

This is part of the National Kids Out Scheme - if you would like to help please contact Rtn David Casey for details

Tue 12th June 2018 Fellowship Meeting

No speaker so time for fellowship

Thu 7th June 2018 - Sunset Meeting

Dr Vanessa Loaiza - 'Memory in the Ageing Mind'. Vanessa has some fascinating stuff to tell us.

Tue 5th June 2018 Club Assembly

News about the coming year

Tue 29th May 2018 - Scatter Week

No meeting this week

Tue 22nd May 2018 Annual General Meeting

Formal club business at the AGM

Tue 15th May 2018 James O'Dell - 'Crossing Borders - Alternative Money'

A new look at money

Tue 8th May 2018 John Flack (MEP for the east of England)

We hear from one of our MEPs

Tue 1st May 2018 John Powell/ Robert Macauley on their visit to India

Work continues to eradicate polio

Tue 24th April 2018 Army Recovery Centre - Crevasse House

Captain Simon Mander - preparing soldiers for leaving the Army

Tue 17th April 2018 Business Meeting

Club business with time for fellowship

Tue 10th April 2018 Lunch at the Mercury

Institute closed so fellowship lunch at the Mercury

Thu 5th April 2018 - Sunset Meeting

Monthly Sunset Meeting at the Officers' Club

Tue 3rd April 2018 - No meeting today

Race Night, Gt. Horkesley Village Hall so no meeting today.

Tue 27th March 2018 Fellowship Meeting

No speaker with a chance for fellowship

Tue 20th March 2018 Sandy Burnett - Mercy Ships

We hear about the excellent work the Mercy Ships are doing in the Third World

Tue 13th March 2018 Freda Casagrande - Hi cap

Freda will outline the work of Hi cap in Nepal and describe the Nepal Hostel Project

Tue 6th March 2018 Peter Wilson & Phil Murray (Colchester Hospital)

Details of the Colchester Hospital Cancer Campaign

Thu 1st March 2018 Sunset Meeting

This meeting is cancelled due to the weather

Tue 27th February 2018 Fellowship Meeting

An opportunity for fellowship with no speaker

Tue 20th February 2018 Alan Edwards on a new almshouse

We hear about a new Colchester almshouse from the architect

Tue 13th February 2018 JohnMiles (Guildford Rotary Eye Project)

Eye surgery hospitals which provide free eye care to those in poverty in the developing world.

Tue 6th February 2018 Business Meeting

In the Balkerne Restaurant

Thu 1st February 2018 Sunset Meeting

At the Officers' Club, Colchester

Tue 30th January 2018 No Meeting

5th Tuesday, so no meeting today

Tue 23rd January 2018 Simon Prestney - Age Concern

Simon will describe the work of Age Concern in Colchester

Tue 16th January 2018 Dr Vanessa Loaiza (Essex University)

Pyschological research on age-related change

Tue 9th January 2018 Rotary Youth Leadership Award

Phil Grigg tells us about the Rotary Youth Leadership Awards (RYLA) programme.

Tue 2nd January 2018 Fellowship Meeting

An opportunity for fellowship after the break - at the Mercury restaurant.

Tue 26th December 2017 No meeting

No meeting today

Tue 12th December 2017 Christmas Lunch - In the BISTRO Restaurant

Annual Christmas lunch - partners welcome. Pre-booking essential

Tue 5th December 2017 District Governor's Visit - In the BISTRO Restaurant

Official visit by DG Nick Sillitoe. Venue is the GROUND Floor Bistro Restaurant

Tue 28th November 2017 Special General Meeting - In the Bistro Restaurant

Annual SGM with agenda as in the Club Directory. Venue is GROUND floor Bistro restaurant

Thu 23rd November 2017 - Sat 25th November 2017 Tesco Bag Packing

Bag Packing at Tesco The Hythe, Colchester - we could do with some extra support so please contact us if you can help out - every little bit helps! read more...

Tue 21st November 2017 John Russell (Headmaster, Colchester Royal Grammar School)

12.30 for 12.45 in the Balkerne Restaurant

Thu 16th November 2017 Wallasea Island Visit

A guided tour of this RSPB site

Tue 14th November 2017 Mid and North Essex Mind

Jenny McPherson will talk to us on the work of the charity

Tue 7th November 2017 Dr Isobel King - Mulanje Mission Hospital

Mon 6th November 2017 International Students' Evening

The annual welcome event for international students in the Grand Jury Room, Colchester Town Hall.

Thu 2nd November 2017 Sunset Meeting

Monthly Sunset Meeting starting 5.45pm and completing 6.30pm

Wed 1st November 2017 Old Time Music Hall - 1st November - 7.00pm for 7.30pm

at The Headgate Theatre, Colchester. 7.00 for 7.30pm read more...

Tue 31st October 2017 NO LUNCH TODAY

No meeting today read more...

Tue 24th October 2017 Lizzy Kingsford (Children’s Services Project)

12.30 to 14.00 in the Balkerne Restaurant PLEASE NOTE THIS WILL BE A FRUGAL LUNCH read more...

Tue 17th October 2017 Business Meeting

12.30 for 12.45 in the Balkerne Restaurant

Sat 14th October 2017 Grand Dinner Dance 14th October 2017

Colchester Moot Hall 19.00 for 19.30 in the Moot Hall in aid of the worldwide campaign for the eradication of polio - End Polio Now. read more...

Tue 10th October 2017 Alice Charrington - Camino de Santiago

12.30 for 12.45 in the Balkerne Restaurant

Thu 5th October 2017 Sunset Meeting

5.45 pm at the Officers' Club read more...

Tue 3rd October 2017 Alan Foster/Phil Lee (Visual Impairment Awareness)

12.30 for 12.45 in The Balkerne Restaurant

Tue 26th September 2017 Jackie Froggatt - The Magistrates Association

12.30 for 12.45 in The Balkerne Restaurant

Tue 19th September 2017 My Life - Rtn. Dennis Willets

12.30 for 12.45 in The Balkerne Restaurant

Tue 12th September 2017 Fellowship Meeting at The Mercury Theatre

12.30 for 12.45

Thu 7th September 2017 Sunset Meeting - Special Event - Thursday 7th September

6.30pm meet at the Colchester War Memorial (By Castle) for a Town Tour from official tour guides Dick Barton and Ian McMeekan. The tour will last till 8pm and then we will head to Bills restaurant for a bite to eat for who ever wishes to stay.
read more...

Tue 5th September 2017 Fellowship Meeting at The Mercury Theatre

12.30 for 12.45

Tue 29th August 2017 Historian Andrew Phillips

12.30 for 12.45 in the downstairs restaurant

Tue 22nd August 2017 Mary-Ann Bartlett (Artsafari) – talk on Malawi

12.30 for 12.45 in the downstairs restautant

Tue 15th August 2017 Business Meeting - Rotarians Only Please

In the downstairs restaurant

Tue 8th August 2017 NO LUNCH TODAY - GONE RACING!

No lunch meeting today - join us at Chelmsford Races this evening BUT only if you have booked in advance via Rtn Roy Chapman

Thu 3rd August 2017 Sunset Meeting - Thursday 3rd August

Guest Speaker - ‘Life behind the Lens’ - Sally Parkinson will give a fascinating talk on the art of photography.
read more...

Tue 1st August 2017 Jasmin Taylor - Telemark Skiing

12.30 for 12.45 in The downstairs restaurant

Tue 4th July 2017 Presidential Handover

In The Balkerne Restaurant read more...
future calendar district events local events