Completed meetings and events 2015-2016

Mon 27th June 2016 Weekly Lunch Meeting - President's last luncheon

At DOVECLIFF HALL
Duty Rotarian: Cyril Ford Raffle: Trevor Hathaway Technical Support: Malcolm Murray

Mon 20th June 2016 Weekly Lunch Meeting - A talk by Helen Bundy from Staffordshire Blood Bikes

Duty Rotarian: William Saunders Raffle: William Saunders Technical Support: Jack Sheldon

Mon 13th June 2016 Weekly Lunch Meeting - 'My Job' A talk by Mandy Webster

Duty Rotarian: Trevor Hathaway Raffle: Mike Redshaw Technical Support: John Weil

Sun 12th June 2016 The 2016 Ironman 70.3 Event

Rotary in action at Needwood Feed Station Burton Rotary manning the Needwood feed station read more...

Mon 6th June 2016 Weekly Lunch Meeting - CLUB ASSEMBLY

Duty Rotarian: Rod Gent Raffle: Adrian Gillham Technical Support: Chris Lloyd

Mon 30th May 2016 NO MEETING

Spring Bank Holiday

Mon 23rd May 2016 Weekly Lunch Meeting - A policeman's lot - Dixon is dead - A Talk by Rod Repton

Duty Rotarian: Mike Redshaw Raffle: Rod Gent Technical Support: Malcolm Murray

Mon 16th May 2016 Weekly Lunch Meeting - The Donna Louise Trust - an update by Chris Belyavin

Duty Rotarian: Richard Cundy Raffle: Richard Cundy Technical Support: Chris Lloyd

Sat 7th May 2016 The 2016 Sandwich Board March

Our major annual fundraising event - carrying advertising boards around the centre of Burton read more...

Mon 2nd May 2016 NO MEETING

Early May Bank Holiday

Mon 25th April 2016 Weekly Lunch Meeting - Judging the Young Photographers Competition

Duty Rotarian: Gerald Wright Raffle: Carl Brister Technical Support: Chris Lloyd read more...

Sat 23rd April 2016 Know your Blood Pressure day

The annual event in conjunction with Bretby RC will be held by the stairs in the Octagon Centre as usual. Peter Barnett has a full complement of helpers, but you would be very welcome to join the queue to have your blood pressure measured.

Tue 19th April 2016 Burton Albion vs. Wigan at Pirelli Stadium

Two tables are booked for the pre-match meal and Jack is accepting bookings NOW. The two teams are both in the running for promotion and currently Burton are top . Should be a close and entertaining match.

Mon 18th April 2016 Weekly Lunch Meeting - Photography for Dummies - a talk by Phillipa Wheatcroft.

Duty Rotarian: George Beacock Raffle: George Beacock Technical Support: Malcolm Murray

Mon 11th April 2016 Weekly Lunch Meeting - 81st Annual General Meeting

Duty Rotarian: Chris Cutchey. Raffle: Sue Barke Technical Support: Jack Sheldon read more...

Mon 4th April 2016 NO MEETING - Scatter Week

Members are expected to make their way to meetings at other clubs.

Fri 1st April 2016 - Sun 3rd April 2016 RIBI Conference

Bournemouth

Mon 28th March 2016 NO MEETING

Easter Monday

Mon 21st March 2016 Weekly Lunch Meeting - Media and Marketing - A talk by Rtn Ian Young

Duty Rotarian: Chris Cutchey Raffle: John Weil Technical Support: Chris Lloyd

Fri 18th March 2016 Celebrating the Club's 80th Charter

Our annual Charter Dinner will be held at the Pirelli Stadium in Burton upon Trent. After dinner entertainment will be by the Cantata Ensemble.

Mon 14th March 2016 Charity dinner at the Mezbaan Restaurant, New Street

in aid of the Midlands Air Ambulance

Mon 14th March 2016 Weekly Lunch Meeting - John Asher will speak about Trade Aid

Duty Rotarian: Adam Johns Raffle: Adam Johns Technical Support: Malcolm Murray read more...

Mon 7th March 2016 Weekly Lunch Meeting - Fellowship Meeting

Duty Rotarian: Bill Masson Raffle: Chris Lloyd Technical Support: Jack Sheldon

Mon 29th February 2016 Weekly Lunch Meeting - Third World Poverty - A talk by Nick Green

Duty Rotarian: John Moffat Raffle: Bill Masson Technical Support: John Weil

Mon 22nd February 2016 EVENING MEETING - Rotary Week joint with Bretby. Paul Newsham 'Biometrics - there will never be another you'

Duty Rotarian: Brian Keates Raffle: John Moffat Technical Support: Chris Lloyd read more...

Sat 20th February 2016 Beer themed evening at Burton Golf Club

A 4 course meal comprising cod goujons, medallions of beef, all cooked in beer, sorbet, and cheese & biscuits, will be accompanied by bottled beers on the table (plus wine for non-beer drinkers). George Philliskirk of the Beer Academy will talk about beer

Mon 15th February 2016 Weekly Lunch Meeting - War and the Environment - cleaning up afterwards. A Talk by Larraine Wilde

Duty Rotarian: Jenny Gray Raffle: Brian Keates Technical Support: Malcolm Murray

Mon 8th February 2016 Weekly Lunch Meeting - Keleigh Tomlinson - The New Life Charity

Duty Rotarian: Peter Rainey Raffle: Malcolm Murray Technical Support: Jack Sheldon read more...

Mon 1st February 2016 Weekly Lunch Meeting - Fellowship Meeting

Duty Rotarian: Mike Styne Raffle: Jenny Gray Technical Support: John Weil

Mon 25th January 2016 Weekly Lunch Meeting - Anwar Sultan - a talk about Ghana

Duty Rotarian: Janet Threlfall Raffle: Gerry Sloane Technical Support: Chris Lloyd

Mon 18th January 2016 Weekly Lunch Meeting - Claire Wright (a former member) talks about Hope and Homes for Children

Duty Rotarian: Carl Brister Raffle: Peter Rainey Technical Support: Malcolm Murray

Sat 16th January 2016 Burns Night Supper

This year returning to its traditional venue at Ashfield House, Burton

Mon 11th January 2016 Weekly Lunch Meeting - Jack Sharkey will give a talk on Sports Science

Duty Rotarian: Jamie Winstone Raffle: Mike Styne Technical Support: Jack Sheldon

Mon 4th January 2016 Weekly Lunch Meeting - Mary's Meals - A talk by Peter Gee, Tamworth RC

Duty Rotarian: Mohammad Haroon Raffle: Janet Threlfall Technical Support: John Weil

Mon 28th December 2015 NO MEETING

Sun 27th December 2015 President's Post Christmas Walk

Around the Burton Wastelands with Lawrence Oates read more...

Mon 21st December 2015 Weekly Lunch Meeting - Christmas Lunch with Partners followed by The Victorians and the Christmas Season - a talk by Danny Wells

Duty Rotarian: David Buchanan Raffle: Jamie Winstone Technical Support: Chris Lloyd

Mon 14th December 2015 Weekly Lunch Meeting - Our Speaker, at very short notice, was Katie West from Air Ambulance

Duty Rotarian: Graham Dean Raffle: Chris Cutchey Technical Support: Malcolm Murray

Sun 13th December 2015 Carol Service

Joint Carol Service with Bretby Rotary Club. 11am at St Modwens. This will be followed by a 3 course lunch at the Winery.

Mon 7th December 2015 Weekly Lunch - Fellowship Meeting with discussion led by Sue Barke

Duty Rotarian: Trevor Hathaway Raffle: Peter Barnett Technical Support: Jack Sheldon

Fri 4th December 2015 Good Company Entertainment

Barton-under-Needwood Village Hall read more...

Mon 30th November 2015 Weekly Lunch Meeting - George Furnival updating members on the Krizevac Project

Duty Rotarian: Keith Howard Raffle: Graham Dean Technical Support: John Weil read more...

Fri 27th November 2015 - Sat 28th November 2015 Bucket Collection at Morrisons store in aid of Macmillan Nurses

The first and only bucket collection of this (calendar) year will be in aid of a most worthwhile and highly recognisable charity, Macmillan Nurses, and we have been assured that the funds raised will be used locally.

Tue 24th November 2015 Skittles Evening at the Burton Bridge Inn

9 pin skittles + refreshments, all with partners, and Burton Bridge beers on tap straight from the brewery!

Mon 23rd November 2015 Weekly Lunch Meeting - Quentin Robbins - Gentleman Farmer (almost)

Duty Rotarian: Cyril Ford Raffle: Hugh Clarke. Technical Support: Chris Lloyd

Mon 16th November 2015 Weekly Lunch Meeting - Ken Hair will give a 'My Job' talk

Duty Rotarian: William Saunders Raffle: George Davenport Technical Support: Malcolm Murray

Mon 9th November 2015 Weekly Lunch Meeting - Kate Dumelow speaks about Polio in India

Duty Rotarian: Trevor Hathaway Raffle: Jack Sheldon Technical Support: Jack Sheldon

Mon 2nd November 2015 Weekly Lunch Meeting - Special General and Business Meeting

Approval of Accounts for 2014-15. Election of President, Vice Presidents, Secretary and Treasurer for 2016-17.

Duty Rotarian: Rod Gent Raffle: Mohammad Haroon Technical Support: John Weil

Sat 31st October 2015 Bradford Peace Seminar click for full info

Click 'read more' to see full info read more...

Mon 26th October 2015 Weekly Lunch Meeting - Alan Parsons - Social Media, is it the future?

Duty Rotarian: Mike Redshaw Raffle: Keith Howard Technical Support: Chris Lloyd

Wed 21st October 2015 Quiz Evening

Burton Golf Club

Mon 19th October 2015 Weekly Lunch Meeting - Elaine Pritchard telling us about Social Media for Dummies!!

NOT TO BE MISSED
Duty Rotarian: Adrian Gillham Raffle: Cyril Ford Technical Support: Malcolm Murray

Mon 12th October 2015 Weekly Lunch Meeting - Jane Wall - Harvey Girls

Duty Rotarian: Richard Cundy Raffle: Carl Brister. Technical Support: Jack Sheldon

Fri 9th October 2015 Burton -v - Ashby Rotary Club Golf Competition

at Willesley Golf Club

Wed 7th October 2015 Flower Demonstration and Lunch at Pirelli Stadium

under preparation

Mon 5th October 2015 Weekly Lunch and Fellowship Meeting - may be joined by Walsall RC

Duty Rotarian: Gerald Wright Raffle: Trevor Hathaway Technical Support: John Weil

Fri 2nd October 2015 - Sun 4th October 2015 District Rotary Conference

Southport

Mon 28th September 2015 Weekly Lunch Meeting - Martin Tomlinson - A Charity in Grenada

Duty Rotarian: George Beacock Raffle: William Saunders Technical Support: Chris Lloyd

Mon 21st September 2015 Weekly Lunch Meeting - Deborah Price - Bereavement Midwifery Service at BHFT

Duty Rotarian: Peter Barnett. Raffle: Mike Redshaw. Technical Support: Malcolm Murray

Fri 18th September 2015 Community Champions

Rotary clubs sponsor the crowning award at the Burton Mail Community Champions Celebration Dinner. read more...

Thu 17th September 2015 The Archie Gentles Golf Trophy

This, after the Open Championship, is the most prestigious golf tournament of the year. It will be held at the Burton Golf Club. The format will be the same as previous years and be followed by a bite to eat.

Mon 14th September 2015 Weekly Lunch Meeting - John Holmes - Annapurna

Duty Rotarian: Sue Barke Raffle: Adrian Gillham Technical Support: Jack Sheldon

Mon 7th September 2015 Weekly Lunch Meeting - Business Meeting and Youth Services Review by Mike Redshaw

Duty Rotarian: Chris Cutchey. Raffle: Rod Gent. Technical Support: John Weil.

Tue 1st September 2015 Ashfield Bowls Match

The Masons of Ashfield House challenge us to a Bowls match - a competition that nobody ever wins, it is always a draw! read more...

Mon 31st August 2015 NO MEETING

August Bank Holiday

Mon 24th August 2015 Weekly Lunch Meeting - The new Principal of Burton & South Derbyshire UTC, Janak Patel, will talk about his role & new courses

NOTE CHANGE OF SPEAKER
Duty: Bill Masson. Raffle: Gerald Wright. Tech: Jack Sheldon.

Mon 17th August 2015 Weekly Lunch Meeting - How I gave away a kidney - A talk by David Dimeloe

Duty Rotarian: John Moffat Tech: Jack Sheldon Raffle: Carl Brister
Menu: Fish, chips & mushy peas, Apple crumble

Mon 10th August 2015 Weekly Lunch Meeting - Life after an Ambassadorial Scholarship - a Talk by Sam Evans

Duty Rotarian: Brian Keates Tech: John Weil Raffle: George Beacock
Menu: Shepherd"™s pie, Chocolate bavarois

Mon 3rd August 2015 Weekly Lunch Meeting - Visit by New District Governor, Roger Summers

Duty Rotarian: Jenny Gray Tech: Chris Lloyd Raffle: Sue Barke
Menu: Lasagne & garlic bread, Rhubarb crumble

Sun 2nd August 2015 Garden Party

Our annual garden party and BBQ being held this year in Barton-under-Needwood

Mon 27th July 2015 12:45pm Lunch Simon Chapman and Rally Driving

Mon 20th July 2015 12:45pm Lunch - Our World Challenge Adventure A talk by Laura Bailey & Susie Jones

Duty Rotarian: Mike Styne Tech: Jack Sheldon Raffle: John Weil
Menu: Steak & ale pie, Lemon meringue pie

Mon 13th July 2015 12:45pm Lunch - Rotary Foundation - A talk by John Cavey, Derby South RC

Duty Rotarian: Janet Threlfall Tech: John Weil Raffle: Adam Johns
Menu: Roast chicken & trimmings, Raspberry crà¨me brà»lée

Mon 6th July 2015 12:45pm Lunch Business Meeting

The first meeting of new President Bob's year. William Saunders will talk about the role, objectives & activities of the International & Donations Committee.
Duty Rotarian: Carl Brister Tech: Chris Lloyd Raffle: Chris Lloyd
Menu: Lamb Rogan josh, Stick
future calendar district events local events